2015 Lab

Directors Lab North’s 2015 Lab was held in Toronto, Ontario from June 3 – 7, 2015.

The Lab’s fifth year successfully united an international contingent of 27 directors from Canada, the USA and England, with a mandate to explore ideas, share knowledge and inspire creativity for the theatre.

Lab Topics

with Jeanette Lambermont-Morey

Playwrights Project
with Erin Shields

with Jane Johansen

Artistic Direction
with Jackie Maxwell and Eda Holmes

Revivals Session
with Peter Hinton

with Mitchell Cushman and Julie Tepperman

New Play Development
with Richard Rose and Andrea Romaldi

Physical Theatre
with Allyson McMackon

Lab Participants

Colin Bruce Anthes
Herbie Barnes
Megan Barrios
Justen Bennet
Jerry Beal
Brenley Charkow
Rozie Curtis
Tamara Bernier Evans
Janet Howe
Kate Hurman
Gabe Manthrop
Alisa Matlovsky
Heather May
Clara McBride
Megan Piercey Monafu
Macey Mott
Dawn Naser
Jennifer Quinn
Ali Richardson
Emily Rollie
Tyler Seguin
Rebecca Steiner
Samantha Tella
Alec Toller
Sarah Thorpe
Chris Woodworth
Danielle Wilson

Stage Manager Extraordinaire

Daniel Bennett

Lab Members also participated in “Shared Sessions”, a series of workshops where Lab members share knowledge and techniques with the Lab. Topics this year ranged from Devising to Viewpoints. We also took a field trip to the Shaw Festival to see Pygmalion.

DLN is grateful to its supporters

Special thanks to the Tarragon Theatre for their continued generous donation of their rehearsal spaces to house the fifth year of the Lab.

Thanks to the Shaw Festival for assisting us with our field trip.

A special thank you to Playwrights Canada Press.

A huge thanks to the Ontario Arts Council and the Toronto Arts Council for funding the Lab this year.